Return to Racing for Coast Zone U12 skiers at Janyk Cup

Posted by Whistler Mountain Ski Club on Feb 19 2022 at 12:06PM PST in 2021-2022

And excitement is in the air as young racers meet Olympians & Paralympians

Clear blue skies coupled with unseasonably warm weather greeted an energetic group of more than 100 young ski racers on Sunday, February 13th in Whistler. Wearing colourful suits and their new Sporting Life race bibs, they ascended Whistler Mountain to compete in Whistler Mountain Ski Club’s signature annual U12 Janyk Cup Zone Race on a section of the Dave Murray National Training Centre (Ptarmigan run). The competition consisted of a two-run combined-time giant slalom, one per gender.

“It was a spectacular weekend with lots of sunshine and smiles. It was really great for me personally to see all the young racers from throughout the ski-to-sky corridor up in Whistler competing and having fun again.”

– Andrew Kirker, Race Chairperson
“Fantastic weekend with plenty of smiles, skiing and sportsmanship. What made it all worthwhile was seeing the kids cheering on kids from different clubs and the appreciation from other clubs, coaches and families for hosting a well run event.”

– Josh Douglas, Chief of Course

Thank you Sporting Life!

Photo #1 – Jack Crawford, Broderick Thomson and Brodie Seger with Cecily Gibbons (Whistler) and Eric Krastev (Grouse); Photo #2 – Mac Marcoux and Tristan Rodgers with Grayson Kirker (Whistler) and Jonathan Yeung (Whistler)

This year’s race was particularly significant as it marked the return to racing after a two year hiatus due to COVID restrictions. For most of these 10 and 11 year old skiers, this race presented their first opportunity to compete against other clubs after two years of training at their respective clubs.

WMSC alumni and recent Olympians Jack Crawford (Bronze medalist in Combined in Beijing 2022), Brodie Seger and Broderick Thomson, were present to award the winners. Paralympic legend Mac Marcoux – Canada’s most decorated Alpine Paralympic Gold Medalist – also stopped by to support this weekend’s events on his way to compete in Beijing 2022 Paralympic Games. Their presence provided powerful inspiration for these young ski racers – Canada’s next generation of Olympians and champions!

Jack Crawford, Boderick Thomson and Brodie Seger with (on podium) Cecily Gibbons (Whistler), Thea Han (Whistler), Inaya Salari (Cypress)

“Huge thanks to WMSC for running a successful event for little racers. The kids had an opportunity to test their skills in various events, and how cool is it to get a speed ticket from the RCMP in Speed Trap event! What a surprise treat to be visited by the Beijing 2022 Alpine Ski Olympians Jack Crawford, Brodie Seger, and Broderick Thompson, with Paralympic Gold medalist Mac Marcoux and Tristan Rodgers. A great way to wrap up a successful event! Kudos to all the parents, volunteers, coaches, clubs and athletes. Special thanks to an amazing photographer Albert for taking every single racers’ fantastic photos! Greatly appreciated.”
~ Insun Kim, parent of Grouse athlete Eames Kim

RCMP Speed Trap

Podium / Awards (listed below in order of first, second, third):
Ladies – Cecily Gibbons (Whistler), Thea Han (Whistler), Inaya Salari (Cypress)
Men – Eric Krastev (Grouse), Daniel Gold (Grouse), Lucas Yu (Grouse)

Thank you to all the volunteers, including:

ROC Event Chair – Andrew Kirker
Chief of Race – Carmine Boskovich
Chief of Course – Josh Douglas
Chief of Volunteers – Euan Cormack
Race Admin – Leanne Von Hollen

~ Story submitted by Kevin Yeung
~ Photos taken and provided by Albert Han


There are no comments for this announcement.